#ThursThreads Week 501 : You Gotta Shut Them Up

Everybody has voices in their head. Even the people who tell you they don’t. You can tell by how people behave. I call it the, “You gotta shut them up” principle.

When I wash the dishes, I turn on music to play in the background. Because. I don’t want to hear what the voices in my head are going to say.

When I fold the laundry, there I go, playing music in the background again. Same reason. I don’t want to hear what the voices in my head would say.

When I’m driving my car, there’s the music again, playing in the background, so I don’t have to hear those God damned voices that never shut up.

Like with my phone. I’m always checking it, monitoring TikTok, Facebook, Twitter, whatever. Always checking for text messages. Because. It beats the hell out of hearing the voices screaming in my head.

Have a couple of drinks with friends at a bar while watching an endless stream of idiots on TV beat each other’s brains out, just shut those damn voices up.

Yeah. Everybody has those voices in their heads. And we do what we do because you gotta shut them up.

199 Words
@mysoulstears


It’s Week 501 of #ThursThreads, hosted by Siobhan Muir. Please go read all the stories in this week’s #ThursThreads. They are always fun to read. And there are some great writers who show up every week.

Leave a comment