#ThursThreads Week 606 : It’s Quiet Here

It’s a long walk from the parking lot at the welcome center at Back Bay National Wildlife Refuge to the beach at False Cape State Park. Over 5 miles. No cars. No trucks. You can ride a bike. You can walk. Once you’re there, it’s a long walk back.

There was a time I could make that walk. Not too many years ago. Before my right hip gave out. Before every step started to hurt. Before I had a permanent limp. I can still walk a couple of miles at a time. But I wouldn’t try walking 5 miles, let alone 10, in a single walk.

I remember the walk well. I used to carry my camera with me. I’d take pictures of the wildflowers, and the wildlife I encountered on the walk.


My favorite part of the walk was when I got to the beach. I could stand there, and think, “It’s quiet here.” I used to walk for a mile or more on that beach and never see another person. I could stop, stare at the ocean, watch the waves.

It was an escape from the stress of having to do something, be somewhere, make progress, make money. An escape from the relentless nature of life. I could stop, breathe, feel the breeze, smell the ocean, reach down and touch the sand.
I wish I could take that walk now. I wish my hip would let me.

I miss the isolation, and the quiet.

246 Words
@mysoulstears.bksy.social


This is week 606 of #ThursThreads, hosted by Siobhan Muir. Please go read all the stories in this week’s #ThursThreads. Some gifted writers write for #ThursThreads every week. The stories are fun to read.

Leave a comment