#ThursThreads Week 548 : You’re Going Back

Sunshine slept in that house that night, on a soft bed, with warm covers. It was a better bed than any she’d ever slept on, one made with ancient, lost technology. The way it supported her weight in all the right places. It was not like sleeping on a table top, or a bed of feathers. It was better.

She slept soundly.

The next day, she decided to search for food. She hadn’t eaten in weeks. The machines had kept her alive. As if they knew something about her that she didn’t know. “OK, machines. Where do I find food around here?”

She walked through the house, and looked in closets, drawers, and cabinets. She found no food.

“You want me to learn about the past, right? Show me how these people ate.”

A machine formed in the center of the room, “You’re going back, right?”

“In time. It’s not time.”

“Follow me.” The machine led her to a room. It pushed a button on the counter. Sunshine watched as a fully cooked meal formed from nothing on top of the counter. “This is what they ate.”

“What is it?”

“A sandwich and some fruit.”

Sunshine ate it.

The machine looked at her, “When will it be time?”

“I don’t know.”

She remembered what Merlin had said to her. “Explore the world.”

“When I find my answers to the questions I don’t even know I have. When I find me.”

“We understand. It is what Merlin did.”

247 Words
@mysoulstears


This is Week 548 of #ThursThreads, hosted by Siobhan Muir. Please go read all the stories in this week’s #ThursThreads. They are always fun to read, and there are some great writers who show up every week.

Leave a comment