#ThursThreads Week 532 : I Would Tell You If I Could

My cousin sat across the table from me, “Sometimes, you’re so smart you’re an idiot, and can’t see the obvious.”

“You really don’t believe what I have said.” I backed away from the table.

“There is nothing wrong with you! Nothing! You’ve just bought into all the lies about defective brain chemistry that the Deep State wants you to believe!”

I stood up. “There is no point in explaining to you. No point. I would tell you if I could. But you would not listen.”

She stood up too, and glared at me, “You’ve become one of them!”

I took a breath, held it, counted to ten, slowly let it out. “Because you can’t see what is there. What is there is invisible to human eyes. Our eyes can’t see it. So, for you it doesn’t exist.”

She started ranting about how depression was a made up, fictional illness, designed to suck money out of all of us by making us spend endless amounts on medication and treatment that didn’t work.

I didn’t listen. I knew too well what she had to say. What she believed.

She wasn’t me. She didn’t look in the mirror and see the hollowness, the emptiness, that I saw every time I looked. She didn’t know the feeling of walking by the street, and knowing freedom from that emptiness was two steps to the side. One hit and it would be over.

She was totally blind to what she could not see with her eyes.

250 Words
@mysoulstears


It’s Week 532 of #ThursThreads, hosted by Siobhan Muir. Please go read all the stories in this week’s #ThursThreads. They are always fun to read. And there are some great writers who show up every week.

Leave a comment