#ThursThreads Week 421 : What’s Really Going On?

“Everyone you ever worked with. Everyone for 29 years. Gone. You burned every bridge. You alienated them all. You walked away from everyone.”

There was nothing to say. Every word she’d said was true. I had. I knew it.

“Tell me. Please. What’s really going on?”

God, those eyes of hers. It always came down to them. Against them I had no defense. No protection. Her eyes had a straight path to my soul. One she could use anyway she wanted, any times she wished, and I couldn’t stop her.

“I changed.”

“That doesn’t answer anything.”

“What do you want me to say?”

“The truth! That’s all I want. The truth.”

“What? That parts of me are gone? That’s the truth. Parts are gone. They’re not coming back.” I couldn’t hide the fire in me. The rage. Not from her. Not from her eyes. “What happened tore my heart out. It’s gone. I don’t feel anything for them anymore. For anyone, anymore.”

“That’s not true!”

I didn’t answer, instead, I looked away, as if to say I didn’t want to talk anymore.

When her hand touched my shoulder, my world came crashing down, and I crashed with it, into silence. “I’m here, you know. And I’m not leaving.”

I hoped someday I could find a way to tell her, to answer her question, but I didn’t know if I’d ever find a way past the missing parts of me. “I don’t want you to go away.”

246 Words
@mysoulstears


It’s Week 421 of #ThursThreads, hosted by Siobhan Muir. And more words in whatever it is that’s writing itself have turned up. Please go read all the entries in this week’s #ThursThreads. They are always fun to read. And there are some great writers who show up every week.

2 thoughts on “#ThursThreads Week 421 : What’s Really Going On?

Leave a comment