#At0Z2016 : M Is For Moose

That damn moose! I will never forget that damn moose! Let me tell you about that evil thing, and what he did to me.

It was June of 2001, and all four of us went on a family vacation to New Hampshire. Back then, I did not have a digital camera, instead I had a Minolta Point-and-shoot 35mm film camera. Pat made sure I had lots of film for it so we wouldn’t run out on the trip. The camera ran on two AA batteries, and I had six spares, all rechargable, to make sure I didn’t run out of power to take pictures.

We’d been there a couple of days, exploring the state, and Pat and the kids, who were still kids back then, kept hoping to see a moose. A big moose, with big antlers. “Maybe one will pose for us. Maybe one will stand right outside the car, and look at us, and we can take really good pictures of it.”

We were heading back to the hotel after a day of exploring in caves, and old houses, at parks in New Hampshire. We’d stopped to get drinks someplace, and I was enjoying my drink, when she suddenly stopped the car. “Mark!”

I looked up, to see why she’d stopped.

There he was. That damn moose. Standing 20 feet from the car, looking right at us.

“Get the camera! Now!” I heard her words, and I didn’t think, I acted. I grabbed my camera from the floor, pulled the lense cap off, and raised it to take a picture. And…

The camera wouldn’t raise. It stopped. I pulled up, and the camera wasn’t having any of it. The kids in the back seat joined in, “Get the camera, Dad!”

“Mark! He’s going to get away!”

I pulled, and pulled, but the camera was magically stopping below the height of the dash of the car. No matter what I did, it wouldn’t come up.

And that damn moose stood there, shook its head, and walked toward the car.

I frantically tried to figure out what was wrong with the camera. I found the shoulder strap, and followed it to the car door. The camera strap was locked in the car door. I had to open the door to pull it free.

The moose walked down the other side of the road, until it got even with the car. The, he shook his head, and turned into the woods beside the road.

The camera was free. I raised it, and snapped a shot, but nothing happened. I turned the camera on, and waited the six painful seconds for it to power up, and be ready to take a picture.

Pat was beside herself, “Mark! He’s gone! The moose is gone!”

The kids were in the back seat, “Dad! You missed the moose!” They were laughing about as hard as I’ve ever seen them laugh.

And that damn moose vanished into the trees.

I swear I could hear it laughing at me.

Friggin’ moose.

And I’ve never seen another moose in the wild since that day.


It’s April 17th, and I’m a still one dayy behind on the A to Z Challenge for 2016. Only 13 more letters to write stories for this month.

Please, go explore the A to Z Challenge, and the sites of others who are participating in this adventure.

Leave a Reply

