#ThursThreads Week 210 : Necessary For Safety

It was Thursday night, and I was babysitting the neighbors six year old son, Tommy. He was a machine. He’d brushed his teeth after he ate his dinner, then he’d gotten his bath. He even ran the water himself. He got his pajamas on, too. All of it, like clockwork, almost like he was working for a list of instructions.

Promptly, at 08:00 PM, Tommy sat down on the sofa in the Living Room, and waited patiently for me to notice him. “Yes, Tommy?”

“Can I ask you something?” He stared at the tie-dyed toe socks on his feet.

“Sure?” I sat down next to him.

“Are you Okay with being a babysitter?”

“Well, yes. Your Mom and Dad asked me to help, and I don’t really mind.”

Tommy rubbed his temples, and scrunched his eyes. “That’s not what I meant. Do you know why Mom and Dad asked you to babysit me?” He smiled, “Yeah. That’s the question. I got it right.”

“They asked me to watch over you while they’re gone.”

“Yep. And they had to, didn’t they.”

“Yes. That’s what all parents have to do for their children.”

He nodded his head furiously, “Yeah! Babysitters are necessary for safety.” He grinned. “They told me I couldn’t be left alone all night ‘cause I’m only six. So, I had to have an older person around for safety.” He giggled. “But I can’t take care of myself, right?”

“Yes, you certainly can. And you have tonight.”

246 Words
@LurchMunster


A little story from the world of Tommy and his babysitter, for Siobhan Muir‘s #ThursThreads. This is for #ThursThreads Week 210. Please go read all the entries in this week’s #ThursThreads. They are always fun to read.

Leave a Reply

