#ThursThreads Week 198 : Wait On What?

When she finished, she stared at her shaking hands, and I found I had a problem to solve. “Thank you,” my electronically altered voice broke the silence.

“James is in trouble, and I’m afraid.”

I nodded, James was in trouble, but wasn’t the trouble. “That’s why I’m here.” I reached across the table, pulled her drink away. “I’m going to help.”

“What can you do?”

“What needs to be done,” I stood, “I’m going to solve the problem.” I walked toward the back door of her home. “All I have to do is wait.”

“Wait on what?”

“James. He’ll lead me to the problem.” Technically, it was a true statement. In reality, following James was the first step. He’d lead me to someone, who’d lead me to someone else, until I reached the head of a very nasty snake.

“How?”

“Active.” I vanished. I was still there, I hadn’t moved, but I was gone, invisible, undetectable. “He won’t know.” I opened and closed the back door to make her think I had left. Then, I went down the hall to the Master Bedroom and waited for James to start his day, and lead me to the next piece of the trouble he was in.

204 Words
@LurchMunster


I wrote this for Siobhan Muir‘s #ThursThreads, Week 198. Please go read all the entries in this week’s #ThursThreads. They are good reading.

Leave a Reply

