Whispers

I hear them all the time.
Little whispers in my mind.
They torment me.
They haunt me.
They never let me rest.

“Are you ready for that test?”
“Did you really do your best?”
“Do you know what to say?”
“Do you know what to write?”
“Are you good at what you do?”
“Is everyone just being nice to you?”

I hear them in the morning,
When I wake from sleep.
They whisper in my ear.
Tell me all the things I don’t want to hear.
Tell me all the things I fear.

“What if you’re late to work?”
“You still can’t fix that problem, can you?”
“The boss will want another update.”
“You didn’t workout last night. You’re getting fat.”
“Are you sure you didn’t forget something?”
“What will you do wrong today?”

I hear them when I’m working.
Staring at source code.
Wondering how to fix it.
Always asking questions.
I never talk about.

“Do you know what you are doing?”
“Do they know you are a fake?”
“Do they know you depend on luck?”
“Have you crossed your fingers yet?”
“Do they know you’re only guessing?”
“What happens when your luck runs out?”

They’re there when I write.
Behind every word.
Behind every thought.
Always asking questions.
Never letting up.

“Do you think anyone reads anything you write?”
“Is everything you write the same?”
“Do you think you can write a book?”
“You can’t tell that story, can you?”
“You can’t find the words, can you?”
“You’re faking it again, aren’t you?”

I hear them all the time.
Little whispers in my mind.
They torment me.
They haunt me.
They never let me rest.


It’s April 28th, the 24th day of the A to Z Challenge 2015. This is the 23rd of 26 pieces I’m writing in April for the challenge. This one’s for the letter W. Tomorrow brings the letters X and Y. I wonder what I’ll write for them.

Leave a Reply

