#ThursThreads Week 114 : Go Get The Man

I walked toward my car as the voice in my head urged me on, ““Go get the man.” I got in, and drove. “Go get the man,” echoed in my head.

I’d done everything right. Talked with him every day. Went to lunch with him and his friends. Dressed for him. I wore skirts that showed off my hips and legs. I wore as little beneath my clothes as I dared. I showed off my boobs. I knew he saw. I wanted him to see.

I always joined him for lunch I knew all his favorite places to eat. I tried countless perfumes until I found ones he liked. I styled my hair different ways until I found the ways he liked. I even colored my hair red, because it was his favorite. I learned what kind of clothing he liked to see me in, and always wore his favorites.

He knew I loved him.

But he got engaged to her anyway! Another woman he would hold, kiss, sleep with. The thought of him fucking her was the last straw. “If I can’t have you, no one will!”

“Go get the man.”

I pulled my car to the curb outside his parking garage, motor running, and waited. When his car came down the ramp, I floored it.” Go get the man,” echoed in my head as my car tore into the driver’s side of his.

I watched him die. I smiled. If I couldn’t have him, no one would.

249 words
@LurchMunster


I wrote this for Siobhan Muir‘s #ThursThreads, Week 114. Reading the prompt while listening to music, I knew what to write. This piece was inspired by the song “I Want You”, by Delain. Please go read all the entries in this week’s #ThursThreads. They are good reading.

Leave a Reply

