Dreams : Camellias

I had a dream on Sunday.
One I brought to life
In my own unique way.

I dreamed I crossed
Both time and space,
To reach the place you live.
There, I knocked on your front door,
And when you answered,
I grabbed your hand,
And did not let it go.

“Come with me,” I said,
“There’s something you should know.”

I walked with you,
Through the ice and snow,
In the bitter cold.
To my magic car.

We got inside and drove,
Through time and space,
To a place I know of.
A place I always go.
When life threatens once more
To tear my heart apart,
And turn what’s left to stone.

To a garden
I walk through
To heal the wounds
Life leaves in my soul.

“Come with me,” I said,
“There’s something you should know.”

And I took you by the hand
And walked with you.
Into a magic land.

The Dogwood trees are budding.

The Dogwood trees are budding.

We watched the ducks swimming on Mirror Lake.

We watched the ducks swimming on Mirror Lake.

IMG_7475IMG_7477IMG_7481IMG_7487

Then I showed you the Camellias at the garden.

Then I showed you the Camellias at the garden.

IMG_7515IMG_7527IMG_7537IMG_7542IMG_7552IMG_7564IMG_7573IMG_7587

There are trees already in full bloom.

There are trees already in full bloom.

IMG_7603

Birds are everywhere.

Birds are everywhere.

Even the Apricot tree is blooming.

Even the Apricot tree is blooming.

IMG_7615IMG_7618IMG_7620

And it won't be long until the Magnolia trees begin to bloom.

And it won’t be long until the Magnolia trees begin to bloom.

Just ask the birds.

Just ask the birds.

IMG_7633IMG_7637

And the Robins watch it all.

And the Robins watch it all.

Soon, the paper bushes will start blooming.

Soon, the paper bushes will start blooming.

And there are always Orchids in full bloom in the Tropical Greenhouse

And there are always Orchids in full bloom in the Tropical Greenhouse

IMG_7680IMG_7684As I drove you home,
Through time and space both.
I spoke the words
Of a song I know.

“Fear is only in our minds.
It’s taking over all the time.
Fear is only in our minds,
But it’s taking over all the time.”

I know you’ve heard the words,
A thousand times or more.
Things change.
They always do.
And the ice and snow,
And the bitter cold
Will fade away
In the days and weeks ahead.

The world will thaw.
And so will you.
If you decide
The ice and snow,
And bitter cold,
Are just another part of life,
That comes and goes.

The same way night fades away
With the sunrise
Everyday.

I walked you to your door,
In the ice and snow,
And the bitter cold.

And left you at your home.
With a memory
Of Camellias.
In the snow.

I leave this thought with you.

I leave this thought with you.

3 thoughts on “Dreams : Camellias

  1. So beautiful Mark! You know I thought the other day about all the people I would like to meet up with if I ever make it over to the US. And I know that you might not speak much, but I thought to myself, we won’t need to speak if I walk with him round the botanical gardens, we can just enjoy the view and the silence.

Leave a Reply

