#FTT 15 : When The Moon Exploded…

“When the moon exploded…”

“No!” I screamed. “Not another apocalypse tale!” I shook my head, and slammed my fists on my desk. “We’re done!”

The writer laughed. “It’s not an apocalypse tale.”

“Then how does the moon explode?”

“As I was saying. When the moon exploded with colors, everyone knew Graphsans had pulled off the most impressive, audacious, and artistic graffiti stunt of all time.”

I stared at him, “Graffiti?”

“Yes. The moon explodes with color. Yellow, red, orange and pink. In a tie-dyed pattern,”

“Tie-dyed?”

“Yes”, he grinned. “It’s the story of the greatest graffiti artist in history performing his greatest work. Painting the moon, so everyone can see it. A work of art that lasts for centuries, slowly fading as the solar wind erodes the paints.”

I shook my head, “But, how would you explain the paint? The artwork?”

“A private rocket, launched at the moon.”

I wrote a few quick notes in my notebook. “Thank you.” I nodded at him, “Your idea is certainly different.” I stood, and held out my hand. “We’ll make our decision in the next couple of week, and we’ll be in touch.”

After he left, I sat there, “A graffiti artist paints the moon?” I shook my head. “Really?” I wrote a few notes to put into a more detailed review to present to the board. Then I used push-to-talk to have the next writer sent in.

After he introduced himself, I asked what his proposal was.

“When the moon exploded…”

What was it with these people? Did everyone want something with the moon exploding in some way? I interrupted him, “Not another story about the moon exploding.”

The writer sighed, “When the moon exploded, its surface covered with mushroom clouds, destroying the invading robot armada’s solar system base, everyone rejoices. It is a turning point in the war, when we take the war to the aliens.”

Once more, I took a few quick notes, thanked the writer for his time, said we’d be in touch, and had the next writer sent in. As I waited for her to enter, I wondered I my mother was right, and I should have picked a sensible career, like explosives technician, or underwater safety inspector.

But like any son, I’d ignored my mother’s advice, and entered show business.

I shook my head. “Gods, but I’m such an idiot sometimes.” And I wondered what other insane ideas for a science fiction movie I’d have to wade through before it was quitting time.

415 words
@LurchMunster


I wrote this for Week 15 of Alissa Leonard‘s Finish That Thought. Please, go read all the creatively shared stories in this week’s challenge.

Leave a Reply

