#VisDare 38 : Chase

I did not sleep that night. I watched over Alice. Something wouldn’t let me sleep. Something told me I had to protect her.

During the night I heard the cats of Old Phoenix, yowling. In my mind, they screamed. I reached for my knives, still in my boots. The door to the church opened, slowly, silently. Three men stood there.

The cats screamed, “The Horde!”

I didn’t wait. I threw my knives, and two of the three men died. The third turned, and ran. I chased him through the streets of Old Phoenix, to the lake. He didn’t take the boardwalk. He dove into the lake, going under the boardwalk. I followed as he race into the lake, where he reached a boat with more men. They pulled him aboard, and quickly left.

I returned to the church, where Alice waited for me.

143 Words
@LurchMunster


This is part 24 in the continuing story I’m working on for Angela Goff’s Visual Dare. Please read the other entries in this week’s Visual Dare challenge.

2 thoughts on “#VisDare 38 : Chase

  1. I hadn’t realised you were still continuing your saga, shows how out of touch I’ve been with #VisDare for a long while!
    I’m glad Alice was still there when he returned, I had a horrible feeling she wouldn’t be!
    And I love the word “dove”, it never looks or sounds right to me somehow and yet it is – you have to love the English language!

Leave a Reply

