#ThursThreads Week 88 : There’s No Revenge

Kenny glared, “I hate that bastard!” Kenny clenched his fists and jaw, and shook his head, “You know why!”

“Because Becky married him instead of you?” I shook my head. “Because she had his son, and not yours?”

Kenny stood there, glaring. I swear he could have chewed on a handful of roofing nails, even though they’d have punched holes in his lips, cheeks and gums, and stuck in his tongue. I knew he wouldn’t have cared.

“Because he went with her to all her cancer treatments, and all that chemo shit?”

Sometimes, Kenny wasn’t so smart.

“Can you change one damn thing that happened?”

I felt his anger start to focus on me. The hair on the back of my neck raised like the hair on the back of a cat trapped in a corner.

“What? You want to go to prison? Maybe the chair?” I walked right up to him. Eye-to-eye. I let my frustration and anger out. “You want Kay to wonder why you married her if you didn’t love her? You want your girls to grow up without a dad? You want to throw away your whole damn life, just because of him?”

I stared into his eyes. His stupid, angry eyes. And watched the lights turn back on in them.

“You gotta learn. There’s no revenge. There’s just Kay. And Lilly. And Chrissy. You gotta learn to not let him get to you.”

238 Words
@LurchMunster


I wrote this for Siobhan Muir‘s #ThursThreads, Week 88. Please go read all the entries in this week’s #ThursThreads. They are good reading.

Leave a Reply

