#VisDare 32 : Undecided

That night, we ate in the church in Old Phoenix. As we ate, I noticed Alice staring at her glass of water, lost in her thoughts. I knew she was afraid of how she felt about me. She’d lost everyone she’d let into her heart.

“You really think I’m pretty?”

I smiled at her and held out a hand. “You are beautiful. And your heart and soul are the most beautiful I have ever found.”

She smiled and held my hand. I knew she was the missing part of me. I wanted to tell her to take her time. I wasn’t going anywhere. I’d wait forever for her. But I knew not to.

“I’m afraid.”

“So am I.”

She held my hand as she stared into her glass of water, too afraid to care for me, and too afraid to let me go.

143 Words
@LurchMunster


This is part 23 in the continuing story I’m working on for Angela Goff’s Visual Dare. Please read the other entries in this week’s Visual Dare challenge.

Leave a Reply

