#VisDare 23 : Ornate

That afternoon I took Alice to old Phoenix, to a building I’d seen the day she’d shown me the cats. The cats gathered. “Why have you come?”

I thought of the building. The cats led us there. The building was an old church that someone had turned into a cafeteria style restaurant. The cats looked at me, “Take care of her,” I heard them say as they walked away.

I took Alice inside, and sat her at a table, close to the front, where the windows were. I sat down next to her, and held her hand. She whispered, “No one’s ever fought wraiths hand-to-hand.”

“I learned to survive in the caves.” I told her how I’d lived as a hunted outcast in the caves. She told me of her friends murdered by the wraiths and hordes. And I held her while she cried from the heartache of her memories.

150 Words
@LurchMunster


This is part 19 in the continuing story I’m working on for Angela Goff’s Visual Dare. Please read the other entries in this week’s Visual Dare challenge.

One thought on “#VisDare 23 : Ornate

  1. Love that you’re continuing to add on to the tale. Especially like the reference back to the caves — since this is given serially, it’s nice to be reminded of where the POV character began, and that he and Alice have been fighting for a lot longer than the wraith episode. Looking forward to seeing what comes next!

Leave a Reply

