Someone Told Me Once…

Wednesday night, 08 May 2013. My birthday. I’m 54 years old today. Yeah. I’ve completed 54 years of life on Earth. And I’ve decided, on this day, to make some changes. I try to write for flash fiction challenges every week. Sometimes I don’t succeed. Sometimes, what I write isn’t very good at all, and I know it.

But there’s something only my writing friends know. Even in the land of flash fiction, there are stories that never see the light of day. For whatever reason. Sometimes, it’s because the story just flat sucks. Sometimes, it’s because the story is too short. Sometimes it’s too long. Sometimes, the words are just all wrong. Sometimes, the idea’s there, but the execution isn’t. Sometimes, the words don’t come at all.

I am trying to write for Jeff Tsuruoka’s Mid-Week Blues-Buster this week. I try every week. Sometimes I’m successful. Sometimes I’m not. Sometimes I write something and then throw it away. Because I don’t like it.

But I realized tonight, even the things I don’t like, the things I hide, are things I’ve written. Things I tried to put into words. And I’ll never learn to put those things into words without trying.

So, I’m going to try. And some of those things I would have thrown away are going to show up here. Because someone told me once, “You’re better than you think. You just don’t believe in yourself.”

And tonight, I’ve written something for the Mid-Week Blues-Buster. But it’s not right. So I won’t clean it up and enter it into the challenge. I’ll write something else for the challenge. But, what I wrote tonight, while not my best work, and while longer than the 700 word limit for the challenge, is something I shouldn’t thrown away.

Who knows. Maybe someday, I’ll be able to fix it. Maybe someday, I’ll be able to get it right. Maybe someday, I’ll find the way, and the words needed, to say what I tried to say as I wrote tonight.

So, some of the things I used to hide are going to show up now. Here. On my blog.

I just thought you should know.

Mark.

Leave a Reply

