#VisDare 18 : Inspect

As we walked through Old Phoenix, Alice shared a story. “When I was a little girl I didn’t know about the animals. My mother took me to the pier, and we walked all the way to its end. She closed her eyes, and thought real hard, and a big fish jumped out of the water, onto the pier. It looked at me, and I heard it in my head. It said, ‘Hello, Alice.’ I studied that fish from mouth to tail, and couldn’t find anything that made it talk. But I heard the fish again, ‘Please don’t eat us,’ it said.’ That was the day I learned to talk with the animals.”

Alice held my hand as we walked. She didn’t say anything, but I heard her ask, “Will you stay with us, in Phoenix?”

“Yes, Alice. I will stay with you.”

145 Words

@LurchMunster


This is the 14th piece in a continuing story I’m working through for Angela Goff’s Visual Dare. Please read the other entries in this week’s Visual Dare challenge.

One thought on “#VisDare 18 : Inspect

Leave a Reply

