#MondayMixer : The Engagement Ring

The restaurant sat at the end of a small peninsula that extended into the river. It was styled like an old riverboat, and even had a functioning paddle wheel at the back. That’s where we met, lawyers and all.

The lawyers made sure we signed all the appropriate paperwork making our divorce legal, and final. We’d been in love once. But we’d both changed. Our tastes, lives, likes, and loves had taken divergent paths. Divorce was the natural, appropriate ending to our relationship.

Before we went our separate ways, she loosened the drawstring on her reticule and pulled out the engagement ring I’d given her. “I won’t be needing this.”

“It’s yours to keep. I bought it for you.”

She smiled. “It would only remind me of you.”

The ring rests in my desk’s top right drawer, but I never think of her.

150 Words
@LurchMunster


I wrote this little ditty for Jeffery Hollar‘s weekly Monday Mixer flash fiction challenge. Please, go read all the other entries in this week’s challenge. They are all well crafted.

And yes, the Inlinkz list was closed when I posted this tonight…

Leave a Reply

