#VisDare 11: Whorl

“You can talk to snails?” I asked.

“Yes. And so can you,” Alice smiled.

“What else is different here?”

She laughed. “You are.”

I heard birds singing overhead. She took my hand, “Close your eyes, I want to show you something.”

I closed my eyes, and heard her in my mind again, “What do you see?”

“A field, with a fence, and some trees. And a building of some kind,” I thought to myself, knowing she heard me. “But they’re strange. Like I’m seeing all directions at once.” The sky surrounded the land. There were even mountains in the distance. Everything was whorled around the center of the image.

“It’s what the birds see,” Alice gently squeezed my hand. “They see differently than us.”

I opened my eyes, “You called this place Phoenix.” She nodded her head. “What is it, really? And who are you, really?”

149 Words
@LurchMunster


This piece is the eighth in a continuing story I’m working through for Angela Goff’s Visual Dare. Please read the other entries in this week’s Visual Dare challenge.

3 thoughts on “#VisDare 11: Whorl

Leave a Reply

