#ThursThreads Week 58 – We Call Them Destructions

“Well, she said she didn’t want dead flowers, and she didn’t want anything like chocolate or candy.”

Bobby looked at the mangled remains of Steve’s mangled garage door. “You could have asked for help.”

Steve threw his hands up in the air, “But, the instructions said it was easy to install!”

Bobby walked toward Steve’s garage. He saw where the door’s spring loaded cable was wrapped around several wheels of the door. That clearly happened when the door started going up. The wire had come off track, tangled in the wheels, and as the automatic opener kept trying to open the door, the the door had come apart. After that, the motor had still tried, but the door’s remains wouldn’t budge, and the motor had ripped loose from it’s mountings, tearing a hole in the garage ceiling. The whole mess had landed on Laura’s car.

“You could have moved the car into the driveway before you installed and tested the door opener.”

Steve just glared at me. “That wasn’t in the instructions! Besides, what good does it do telling me what I could have done?” He looked at Laura’s car. “I’m toast!”

I sighed. “Betty will handle Laura. I’ll help you fix this. And you can sleep in our guest room.” I smiled as best I could. “Laura will understand. You really tried.”

Steve just shook his head and mumbled, “I frickin’ hate Valentine’s day…”


I wrote this for Siobhan Muir‘s #ThursThreads, Week 58. Hope you enjoy it. Please go read all the entries in this week’s #ThursThreads. They are good reading.

Leave a Reply

