Inconsistent Things

I promised someone I’d start a list of the things I’ve observed in social settings, normal, day-to-day settings, that my Autistic mind finds incomprehensible, and totally irrational. This is that list. It will grow over time, as I find the words to describe things.1. Weekly driving patterns. By this I mean, Monday through Friday, there’s pure chaos. It’s like everyone’s in a NASCAR stock car race. “I have to get where I’m going now!” The speed limit gets ignored. Sometimes, stop lights get ignored. It’s as if the caution light is a signal to floor it so you can get through the intersection without having to wait for the light to cycle back to green. Then, we have Saturday and Sunday. When the same people (I know this. I’ve tracked dozens of license plates on vehicles) that drive so aggressively on Monday through Friday drive as if the speed limit is too absurdly high. They transition from “Get out of my way, you idiot!” to “What the heck is your problem?” in how they drive. Monday through Friday, they drive 50, 55 and more MPH in a 45 MPH zone. Saturday and Sunday, they may get to 40 MPH in the same zone. If they feel like it. Sometimes, 35 and 30 seem to make them happy.

I don’t get it. At all.

2. The Speeders. By this I mean, the people who live in a neighborhood (Pick one. Yours, mine, theirs. Any neighborhood. Anywhere.) Ever notice how they get so angry at their neighbors, and at visiting people, when those people exceed the 25 MPH speed limit of the residential area? Ever notice how those same people routinely top 30 MPH on those same streets? Kind of like, “The speed limit applies to everyone but me!” They scream and whine about how there are children in the neighborhood that play in the streets, and those people racing through are endangering them. Then, they turn right around and race through the same streets.

I don’t get it. At all.

3. Politics. I still wonder how many people voted for George W. Bush to stay in office for his second term, and then spent the entire four years of that term pointing out how unpopular he was. How many voted to keep him in office that did not approve of his policies in Iraq and Afghanistan? How many voted to support his economic policies, blame everyone else for the budget disaster that has occurred. And blame everyone else for the financial market collapse that occurred in 2008, during his second term? And how many of those same people place the fault for our economic problems, and the country’s debt on the unfortunate president that came along behind him, and inherited the train wreck? It’s as if people draw lines in the sand, and break history into 4 year blocks that are completely independent of each other, even though they’re not.

I don’t get it. At all.

4. Diversity. What a topic. I wonder how many “diversity supporting” people add an unspoken sentence to the words, “I support a diverse workplace.” The unspoken words being, “So long as no one in it upsets me, pisses me off, makes me uncomfortable, is openly gay, is openly Islāmic, is openly different from me in any way.” Yep. That’s the definition of diversity, isn’t it?

I don’t get it. At all.

5. Christians. Ah, Christians. I could say so many things. I’ll stick with just one for now. “Love thy neighbor”. Unless thy neighbor is a fag. Then shoot the bastard. “Love thy neighbor.” Unless thy neighbor is a Muslim. Then shoot the bastard. “Love thy neighbor.” Unless they neighbor rides a big ass chopper, dresses in leather and chains, has a Mohawk. Then, do anything you can to keep away from him, and his kind. Evil, evil, evil people, those kind. To be avoided at all costs. “Love thy neighbor.” Unless he walks into your church on Sunday morning in sandals, old, dirty jeans, a white t-shirt that’s got stains on it, and maybe a couple of torn areas, looking like he hasn’t shaved in days, with hair that needs washing, and a funky smell, from where he’s been living on the street, ‘cause he can’t find a job. Yep. You got it. Shoot that bastard. At the least, avoid him like he’s a leper. “Love thy neighbor.” Unless he’s contracted HIV from taking intravenous drugs using dirty needles. Cause everybody knows you get HIV from being a homosexual. And all homosexuals must die.

I don’t get it. At all.

And for now, I’ll stop at 5. There are more. But I’ve written enough.

Mark.

One thought on “Inconsistent Things

  1. # 5 especially is why my religious viewpoint is Christian, not closed minded. I am happy to be a Christian, but ashamed of so many of my so-called brethern {and sistern, if that’s a word} that do/say what you’re talking about. I don’t get it either. It saddens me, knowing that the Christ I love and worship would turn no one away, no matter what. That’s how I strive to be. I know I fail and fall far more often than I should, but I do try. I hope to be the type of Christian that people say ‘I wish more people believed the way you do’. I agree with the other things you mentioned as well, but that one in particular is close to my heart. 😀

Leave a Reply

