Living Crippled Lives

There are times I wonder,
Does the hurting ever end?
Of is it like my other injuries?
The damaged ligaments.
The damaged joints.
That hurt every day.
And have for so long
I can’t remember
When they didn’t.

There are times I understand
Why people are afraid
Of the pain
Of life.
Why they do almost anything
To escape that pain.
Why they turn their hearts
To ice.
Frozen harder
Than any stone.

Why they bury their souls.
So they don’t ever
Have to feel them cry
Again.

Why the say they care.
And everyone agrees they do.
But they behave
As if they don’t.
Because to really care
Is to risk getting hurt.

But if you say you care.
And you follow the rules.
Saying that you care
But never really showing it.
You won’t ever hurt
Too much.

Because no one
Will be close to you.
No one at all.

And there are times
I wish I’d never
Come to understand
How things really are.
How you can work
Side-by-side with someone
For 10 years,
And maybe more.

And if you become ill.
Or injured in a wreck.
That’s just how life is.
And everyone
Just carries on.
As if nothing was wrong.

And their souls
Never shed a tear.
Their hearts never shed
A single drop of blood.
Because they’re safe
From the pain of life.

And they care.
Just like everyone.

There are times I wonder,
Does the hurting ever end?
Of is it like my other injuries?
The damaged ligaments.
The damaged joints.
That hurt every day.
And have for so long
I can’t remember
When they didn’t.

But I know this truth.
It’s OK to hurt.
Hurting’s another part of life.
Just like laughter and smiles.
And without it
Life just isn’t whole.

It’s crippled.

I been told
As I wake up.
As I come alive.
That my heart will ache
More than it ever has.
And my soul will cry
Oceans full of tears.

But not for me.
Instead.
For those I see
Who have done everything
To avoid the risk of pain.
Whose hearts have frozen
Into stone.
And whose souls
Are safely wrapped
In linen
In their graves.

My soul’s tears
Are for those
Living crippled lives.

Leave a Reply

