Another Headline

There it was.
All over CNN.
And ABC.
And CBS.
And NBC.

It was in the newspaper
The next morning.
With pictures.
And big letters.
So you couldn’t miss it.

The story of another soul
That went nuts-o
In the world.
And got a gun.
And started shooting
Everyone.

These stories always ask
The same question.
Time and time again.
How?
How could this happen?
How could anyone
Do what that person did?

This is always followed
By the inevitable.
By the words
Everybody knows.

They need to shoot that bastard
Dead.
Killing people like he did.
Running amok with a gun.
Loosing control like that.
Kill his ass.
Get him off the face
Of this Earth with us.
So we can feel safe
Once more.

We don’t need people
Like him.

No one seems to realize
That’s why he got the gun
In the first place.

To strike back
At the world
That was doing all it could
To murder him.

To crush his dreams.
And make him over.
Into someone
Just like everyone
In the society
In which he lives.

Perhaps he never attended
A weekend party
In college.
Because he knew
He’d end up all alone.
Hiding on a wall.
Wishing it was over.
And he could just go home.

Perhaps he didn’t shave his face
Every single day.
Before he went to work.
Never looking
Professional enough.

Perhaps he grew up friendless.
Isolated.
And alone.
Because he never quite fit in.
With any of the groups.
The clubs.
The clicks.
Or other social structures
That people always form.

Oh,
I know what you’re thinking.
The man just went insane.
Yes.
He did.
I won’t argue with that.

But my autistic mind
Doesn’t feel the social panic
That your’s does.
I don’t hear the chorus of disgust,
Of shock,
Of disbelief.
That I know you feel.

I simply shake my head.
And say prayers to God above.
To take care of the souls
Of those that died before their time.

Then I ask Him please
To touch the broken heart
Of the soul
That only wants to die.
That has given up on life.
Because it’s hurt him so.

And lastly I ask God
To be ready.
Because the truth is
That I know.
I will happen
Time and time again.

Because no one
On this Earth.
Does a single thing
To change the causes
Of such things.

And I wait, and watch.
Because I know
That someday soon
I’ll see another story
On TV.

And I’ll see another headline.

In the news.

Thursday, 05 April 2012

Another Headline

There it was.

All over CNN.

And ABC.

And CBS.

And NBC.

It was in the newspaper

The next morning.

With pictures.

And big letters.

So you couldn’t miss it.

The story of another soul

That went nuts-o

In the world.

And got a gun.

And started shooting

Everyone.

These stories always ask

The same question.

Time and time again.

How?

How could this happen?

How could anyone

Do what that person did?

This is always followed

By the inevitable.

By the words

Everybody knows.

They need to shoot that bastard

Dead.

Killing people like he did.

Running amok with a gun.

Loosing control like that.

Kill his ass.

Get him off the face

Of this Earth with us.

So we can be safe

Once more.

We don’t need people

Like him.

No one seems to realize

That’s why he got the gun

In the first place.

To strike back

At the world

That was doing all it could

To murder him.

To crush his dreams.

And make him over.

Into someone

Just like everyone

In the society

In which he lives.

Perhaps he never attended

A weekend party

In college.

Because he new

He’d end up all alone.

Hiding on a wall.

Wishing it was over.

And he could just go home.

Perhaps he didn’t shave his face

Every single day.

Before he went to work.

Never looking quite professional

Enough.

Perhaps he grew up friendless.

Isolated.

And alone.

Because he never quite fit in.

With any of the groups.

The clubs.

The clicks.

Or other social structures

That people always form.

Oh,

I know what you’re thinking.

The man just went insane.

Yes.

He did.

I won’t argue with that.

But my autistic mind

Doesn’t feel the social panic

That your’s does.

I don’t hear the chorus of disgust,

Of shock,

Of disbelief.

That I know you feel.

I simply shake my head.

And say prayers to God above.

To take care of the souls

Of those that died before their time.

Then I ask Him please

To touch the broken heart

Of the soul

That only wants to die.

That has given up on life.

Because it’s hurt him so.

And lastly I ask God

To be ready.

Because the truth is

That I know.

I will happen

Time and time again.

Because no one

On this Earth.

Does a single thing

To change the causes

Of such things.

And I wait, and watch.

Because I know

That someday soon

I’ll see another story

On TV.

And I’ll see another headline.

In the news.

Leave a Reply

