Writing A Procedure

My doctor said to me,
“Mark,
I have a homework assignment for you.
It’s due next Friday.”

Then he said to me,
“Write a procedure.
I don’t care what procedure.
I don’t care what it’s for.
Write it for anything.
Washing the laundry.
Working at Geek Squad.
Cleaning the cat litter.
I don’t care what.
Just write a procedure.”

So, here I sit.
Realizing what he’s done.
Because he knows.
If I write one procedure.
I’ll keep writing others.
Lots and lots of others.

Because I won’t be able
To stop myself.

So, I’ve picked out a procedure
To start with.
The first of many procedures
That I’m going to write.
That describe how I do
Lots of different things.

Procedure : Daily Writing

1.    Think of an idea.
2.    Think about how to talk about that idea.
3.    Organize those thoughts into a structure/framework.
4.    Write the framework.
4.1    Don’t be afraid if what you write changes as you write.
4.2    Don’t be afraid to throw everything out, and start over.
5.    Proofread what you wrote.
6.    Post that sucker.

You might notice,
As you read the procedure.
It’s more of an outline
Than anything else.
What you won’t know is
That’s exactly how I work.
Everything’s an outline.
With hidden text.
That way,
The procedure’s just a guide.
And the story that I write
Can be written
Different ways.

Where does an idea come from?
How do you write a procedure
For doing that?
Knowing it could never
Be completed.
Knowing you would always
Find an exception
To the procedure
For coming up with an idea.

Like what I’m doing now.
Writing down the thoughts
That I’m having in my head.
As I capture
The simple procedure that I follow
When I write.

And there you have it.
I’ve told a story.
And written a procedure.
At the same time.

And if I’m honest.
Both the procedure,
And this little piece,
Were written
The same way.
Using the procedure
I’ve now written down.

Simple works for me
It seems.

Leave a Reply

