Mr. Inconsistency

It was Saturday.
As I walked through a garden
That I know of.
When it occurred to me
That there was something
In my life
That I need to change.

For as I walked along,
Taking pictures of
Such beautiful things
As Camellias in full bloom,
And Magnolia trees
That were exploding
With colors of their own.

I realized.
I’m an inconsistent being.

At work,
I’m most dependable.
I can be counted on
To get things done.
To be there
When I’m needed.

But…

When I’m not at work,
I’m unpredictable.
And not so very
Dependable.

I’ve realized that there are
A million things I’ve said
That I’d get done.
And I haven’t done
A single one of them.

I need to grow
The same type of
Dependability
That I have at work
In the rest of my life.
Don’t you think?

As I look back
At these past few months,
I can see signs
That I’m starting to do that.
One step at a time.
One day at a time.

Like getting housework done.
I’m not good at that.
But in the past month
I’ve made visible progress
In the Family Room.
And I know
That I’m not done.
That I’ll spend better
Than an hour
Working on the Family Room
Before this day is done.

So that I can,
Inch by inch,
And day by day,
Gradually reconstruct the room.
And make is usable.
For my lady
And my son.

One day at a time.
I’m rebuilding me.
From the damage that was done
16 months ago.

I’ll get there.
This I know.
But for now.
Just call me
Mr. Inconsistency.

One thought on “Mr. Inconsistency

Leave a Reply

