The American Dream

I told my doctor
No one that I used to work with
Would ever step out of line.
Would do anything at all
That their employer
Did not approve of.
Would never take a chance
On anything.

They want the money
That they make
Too much.
And their jobs own them.

And on this Thursday morning
I can’t help but hear
Samael’s song
In Gold We Trust.

“When money rules the game it diminishes life
It narrows perspective to a single line
If it is too much it is not enough
Whatever we earn, for more you still yearn”

I know
They are all the same.
I know they will never change.
For they all have
Just one dream.
The one that’s on TV.
The one that they’ve been taught
Since they were born.

The dream of success.
Of being able to purchase
Anything they want.
Of having that big house.
And that big truck.
And all that stuff.

After all,
It’s what this game of life
Is all about.
Isn’t it.

“We’re looking for satisfaction
Our world is stuffed with ambition
Everything we do, is done in excess
We’re junkies addicted to success”

They never talked about
Anything that mattered.
All they talked about
Was the work they did
That weekend
On their house.
The new car they just bought.
The boat that they now own.

And every one of them
Owned the same damn phone.

It’s what they talked about
When they all got together
For a big lunch out.

“All our emotions are rationalized
We’re careful on what we capitalize
Rare rocks and precious metal
Our power grows, it’s natural”

And I wonder what it means
When everyone reacts the same,
To everything.
When everyone measures success
In the exact same way.
When everyone remains silent
And keeps everything they feel
Locked away.
Hidden from the view
Of everyone.
Including themselves.

Until they reach the point
When they can’t feel anything.
Except anger.
Mistrust.
And fear.
Of anyone that does not behave
Exactly like them.

“If faith has a use, it’s to let us believe
Righteousness is on our side
We got nothing to hide
Of our goal, of our lust
In Gold we trust”

I’ve heard them pray
In church.
To God Himself.
“Give our friend
Who lost his job,
The job that he deserves.
To better show your glory
In this world.”

Does a Christian really need
A Ford F-350 truck
To drive to work each day?
A truck that no one ever rides in
But themselves?

I have to wonder
How many of them
Use the beds of their trucks
More than once
Or twice
A year.
When they make their trips
To Home Depot
To stock up
In the spring,
And in the fall?

And I wonder too
How many believe
That it’s their right,
By God,
To own that SUV.

And every year
They swap the phone they have
For the newest one.
Because that’s just the way
Things are supposed to be.

Just make sure
Gas is plentiful.
And cheap.
‘Cause it’s supposed to be.
So they can buy all of it
That they want.

“God,
Make me a big success.
So that I can be
An example to the world
Of what it means
To have faith in you,
In this day and age.”

Have you ever been to church
And seen the way you get treated
If you walk in wearing
Jeans,
A t-shirt,
And sneakers?

Think about that one
For a little while.

“We’re looking for satisfaction
Our world is stuffed with ambition
Everything we do, is done in excess
We’re junkies addicted to success”

It’s as if they have defined
Happiness as having
All the stuff
They could ever want.
More things
Than they can ever use.

“I’m tired of this TV.
Time to replace it now.”

“My iPhone’s out of date.
Time to upgrade.”

“My computer doesn’t work as well
As it did when I first got it.
I need a new one now.”

“I’ve had the same car
For three years.
Thank God the lease is ending.
And I can get a new one
Now.”

“The game I want to play
Isn’t on my Xbox 360.
Guess I need a PS3
Too got with it.
So I can play the game
I want to play.”

“There’s a sale today
At the local store.
I can see if they have
Anything I want.”

“The ringtones on my phone
Are no good at all.
I need to buy real ringtones.
To replace the sucky ones
That came on my phone.”

“We’re going on a camping trip!
Time to break out
The mobile home!
Time to stock it up
With everything we’ll need
While we are away!”

“I’m going to go outside now,
And cook dinner
On my gas grill.
You know.
The one that’s bigger
That the oven
In the house.”

“We’re going to spend the day
On the beach today.
Pack the drinks and snacks
In the refrigerated cooler.
So that they’ll be cold
When we want a drink.
Or something to eat.”

The list goes on and on.
There’s always more and more.
What ever happened
To walking to a park,
And setting up a little tent.
Spending the night in it.
In a sleeping bag.
Placed upon the ground?

“The ground’s so cold,
And hard.
It hurts to sleep on it.
Give me my air pump.
And my air mattress too.
So I can put that on the ground.
And sleep on it.”

“If faith has a use, it’s to let us believe
Righteousness is on our side
We got nothing to hide
Of our goal, of our lust
In Gold we trust”

Indeed.
In Gold We Trust.
After all.
That’s the American Dream.
And there’s nothing wrong
With that at all.

Leave a Reply

