My New Journey Has Begun

I’m terrified.
And I’m excited.
At the same time.
Let me try
To explain why.

I’m a geek.
You know the kind.
The one that buys the magazines
That tell you how
To build computers
Of different kinds.
The one that writes shell scripts
For the computer running Linux
That automatically converts
Panasonic camera RAW images
To JPEG images,
And rotates them
So that they’re either landscape
Or portrait.

I’m the kind of guy
That disturbs you at work.
The one that no one understands.
The one that speaks a language
No one seems to know.
The one that makes the computers
Do things that surprise you.

And here I am.
The geek.
Working part time at Best Buy.
In the Geek Squad.
Looking at starting
Down a path in life
That I’ve never tried before.

Freelance writing.

I’ll be honest.
Right now,
I barely know
What freelance writing is.
Much less
How to do it.

But I find I’m taking little steps
To find out.
So that I can slowly explore
Something completely new
To me.

Part of me is terrified.
Because I’m walking way outside
The things I’ve always done.
The places that I know
Are safe.
And secure.
Into places I have never been.
Places I have never known.

I bought a little book today.
About freelance writing.
I bought it in the hope
That it will help me find my way
On this path I’m starting down,
That leads me places
I have never been.

Part of me is excited
Because I’m doing something new.
Something I once thought
I would never try to do.
But here I am
Taking little steps
Down a path in life
I’ve always been to scared
To walk on.

The unknown frightens me.
And it intrigues me too.
And I know that walking down
The path I’m now starting
Will lead me someplace new.

And along the path
To the place I’ve never been
Who knows what amazing things
I’ll find along the way?

So, my curiosity
Wins this battle that it’s in
With my fear of the unknown,
My fear of change.

Because I want to learn
All the things I’ll have to learn
As I take a journey
Down a path
I’ve never set foot on.

Have you ever gone for a walk
On a trail in a park
That you’ve never
Walked before?

How exciting was that?
Striking out into the unknown.
Seeing things,
And places,
That you’d never seen before.
That was an exciting thing to do,
Wasn’t it?

And that’s where I am right now,
In this life that’s I’ve been given.
Starting down a trail
I’ve never walked before.

How can I let my fear
Of the unknown
Stop me
From taking that walk
Down that new trail?

Look out world of Freelance Writing.
Here I come.
One day at a time.
One step at a time.

My new journey
Has begun.

Leave a Reply

