I Would Hold You

I would hold you
When you cry.
When I see tears
Fall from you eyes.
And I don’t care at all
If doing so is right
Or wrong.
Nor do I care at all
What other people
Would think.

Because I know this truth.
When you cry.
When tears fall from you eyes.
You may wish for a shoulder
To rest your head upon.
You may wish for someone
To simply be your friend.
And let you know
That they can see
How hurt you are.

So I would hold you
When you cry.
When I see tears
Fall from your eyes.
And let you cry
All that you wish,
All that you need to.
On my shoulder.
If you should wish to.

And there is more
That I would do
For you.

When the tears are gone.
When they no longer fall
From you eyes.
I would continue holding you.
And I don’t care at all
If it’s wrong.
Or if it’s right.
Or what anybody thinks.
About my doing that.

For my heart tells me
That there are times
When you just might wish
For me to keep you
In my arms.
So that you would know
That I care for you.
That you are my friend.
And I will do
All that I can do
To help you.
To protect you.
To care for you.
When you wish me to.

I know too
That I would let you go
When you want me to.
For you are not mine
To hold.

I would do this simple thing
For you.
Because you are my friend.
And I believe it’s true
That friends should not be afraid
To care for each other
When they need to.

I know from other times
In this life
That I’ve been given
That sometimes people
Just don’t see things
In such a simple way.
That they would not understand
At all.
If they were to see
That I would hold you
When you cry.
When tears fall from your eyes.

They would look around
At the environment we are in.
And expect me to behave
Like the rules of that environment
Tell them that I should.
And I understand that.
I really do.

But if I were to behave
In that way,
Then I would not
Hold you when you cry.
When tears fall from your eyes.
And you just need a shoulder
You can rest your head upon.
When you wish
I had the heart
To hold you while you’re hurt.
And show you
That I care for you.
That you are my friend.

And that I’ll be there
Just for you
When you need me.

Isn’t that what friends
Are supposed to do?

So I would hold you
When you cry.
When I see tears
Fall from your eyes.

And I wouldn’t care at all
What other people thought
About me doing that.
Just because
It’s what my heart
Tells me I should do.

And how my heart tells me
That friends should really be.

Leave a Reply

