Why Is It?

Why is it that
No one that I know
Seems to ever take the time
To take a walk
Along the sand,
Down by the water’s edge?

Why is it that
No one that I know
Seems to ever take the time
To take a walk
In such a rare place
As the gardens
Of a botanical park?

Why is it that
No one that I now
Seems to ever take the time
To take a walk
Along a trail
In a National Park?

Why is it that
No one that I know
Seems to ever take the time
To stand before a waterfall,
And simply stare
For a while.

I know the people
That I know
Do take walks
Along the beach,
Or through a garden.

I know the people
That I know
Sometimes do go
To see a waterfall somewhere.

I know they take vacations
Every year.
And go someplace
To get away
From the things they deal with
Every day.

And they come back
From their vacations
Exhausted.
From the pace they’ve set,
And the things they’ve done
While they were away.

It’s like they try to cram
An entire year of fun
Into one short week.

I know
That I have
To take my walks.
I have to see the ocean
And it’s waves.
I have to see the flowers,
And the trees.
I have to stop and stare
At a waterfall somewhere.

I have to do these things.
To remember
What it means
To be alive.
To remember
The gift that life is.

And many times
I do these things
Alone.

Because when I walk alone
Out there on the sand,
Down by the water’s edge.
Or through the flowers
And the trees
Of a big garden somewhere.
Or on a trail
In a National Park.
I can strip away
All the things I have to be
Every single day.

And for just a little while
I can be myself.

And I can’t help but feel
That so very many
Of the people that I know
Are very much afraid
Of doing anything
Alone.

Which makes me wonder
Very much sometimes.
Why is it that
People are that way?
So very much afraid
Of being alone.
So that they can strip away
The things they have to be
Every single day.
And for a little while
Just be who they are.

Why is it that
Things seem this way
To me?

Leave a Reply

